Its not pretty by all means but hey it helps with the amount of junk you toss out in your trash bins! Begining of spring SAMS CLUB had these awesome compost bins! And i got one, it lives out behind my back fence by a mullberry bush that never gives any fruit...and its over run with morning glory....i use to just toss stuff out there now and then...until i got the bin that is...well as things got more and more over run....with vines and other crap... what kind of other crap u ask? POISION IVY!! UGH! I personally have never had the stuff we dont have it in australia and up until this summer i really didnt know what the stuff looked like.....apparently our backyard is a great place to grow the stuff! In my flower bed by the "good" mullberry bush i have a bunch of it growing there....its growning by my cucumber out by my fence...and its quickly surrounding the compost bin! Oh and i reccenty found some growing in my bamboo garden! YAY!..... Anyway back to composting... u dont "need" a special bin to compost your house hold veggie scraps! In fact if i had more land i would just have a compost pile... its amazing what grows in those piles! When we first moved here we had a corner that was ugly in the back yard the previous owners used it as a junk pile i guess? I at the time had no plans for the backyard so when i needed to throw some rotting potatoes out...or a mushy tomato out i just threw it on the pile...b4 fall came i had 3 tomato plants grown and some kind of squash i think but not knowing the history of the pile we did not eat any of it and my husband fed the stff to the guinea pigs we had at the time! I read a really awesome book a few months ago it talked about all the different kinds of compost piles u can do and what not, heres a picture of the book check it out next time your at your local library or when your browsing in the book store next!
Showing posts with label Compost. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Compost. Show all posts
Tuesday, August 25, 2009
Monday, April 27, 2009
Spring! My yard and gardens!
I have spent every moment im able to outside working in my yard and gardens! I have also convinced the boys i want a washing line and after the ranting and raving on their part i guess complaining... I now have the makings of a clothes line all cut up and ready to be assembled and cemented into the ground.....YAY! I will post pictures in another blog! We relocated the fire pit and build/dug a new one! It is much bigger and looks lovely! Ive also tackled the one garden that is a sore spot in our backyard...and ive just let it run free with all its weeds....I tackled that garden today, it took me the WHOLE day to pull up all the evil violets.....and ferns....and other weeds..ok ok i know violets are not "weeds" technically but they grow like dandelions.... they are such a pain in the bum to get rid of! And the ferns yea i really know they arent weeds as well but when i first started in the garden i was like oh how pretty ill relocate these 3......yea ok 3 turned out to be 17....and i stopped saving the small ones and after i was done i tossed em out in the compost bin and ended up with 17 large ferns... So here are some pics of what i have been up to!


My tulips finally bloomed!
These are my neighbours tulips! They are stunning!
I am so glad the mole didnt kill my hosta's!
This is our "sore spot" garden in the backyard! It looks much nicer now :)
Here is a couple of the ferns that i dug up out of that messy garden above!
The old fire pit on the left which the grass seems to have taken off and is growing nicely! The new fire pit! We can not wait for the right weather to have friends over and roast marshmallows over it!
This little corner garden has Star Gazzerlillies in it as well as some cute lil pink/white/purple flowers i forget their names but we baught them at the local nursery down the road!
And this is one of our lastest outside pets...... There are 4 of these lil snakes...*shudder* this lil guy watched me while i pulled weeds in the garden he was so interested in wat i was doing... after he started gettin closer i threw lil weed bulbs near him till i chased him off to the side of the house!
Tuesday, March 3, 2009
Signs of Spring!
Yay! Yesterday even tho it was bloody cold! I ventured out to toss some veggies in the compost bin! And while i was out there i snapped some pics of what looks to be "SIGNS OF SPRING!" woohoo im doinga lil dance right here!
Sunday, March 1, 2009
My Very productive Sunday!
So ive been up since about 9am i started my day off with a 45min walk on the tredmill! and then i worked out on the Wii doing 1hr 45mins on the Wii Fit! Ahhh what a way to start your day am i right? I then went back to bed waking my sleepy hubby up and we opened the blinds and looked out our big window in our bedroom boy it looked glorious outside! I was excited i wrote up my to do list! The boys were thrilled! I sent Kevin outside to rake leaves for my compost bin! Oh and i had him pooper scoop some of the back yard seeing the dog has poop everywhere... and i dont fancy having to walk out there every single day trying to avoid it when i am headed for the compost bin! I shredded news papper to add to my bin! I already have a bucket filled wih chopped up veggie matter *doing a lil dance* and i have a tray full of guinea pig yesterdays news litter and droppings to add to my bin! Its still a lil chilly outside but it felt wonderful being out there! I cant wait to get my hands in the veggies garden and start prep'ing the garden for planting! I have a list of herbs and veggies i didnt order from the seed catalogs that i plant on buyin once the local nurserys open up! But unfortunately fr me my house doesnt get any sun for me to start my seedlings yet... Which kind sucks but i will figure somehing out! So my house is all clean and the laundry is some what done and put away i will finish that up 2morro which is normal for me :) We are headed over to Joe and Angies for games and an early dinner i believe, We have to head to the store first to pick up some cat food and guinea pig litter and a desert to take to Joe and Angs! Oh and if your wondering what i had my hubby do :P he put away 4 bags of clean laundry for me! And helped tidy up the house!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

